Kate and I are going to start reviewing Mt. Plesant businesses.  Mt. Pleasant is nothing like where I grew up in that, among other things, it is full of independently-owned busineses. 

It’s only right that I do my first review of a Mt. Pleasant business of Pfeiffer’s Hardware.  Sometimes I’m pretty sure that Pfeiffer’s Hardware is only in existence because of the percentage of my income I spend there each month.  This is repeatedly proven untrue however by the number of other people cramming in the store asking how to keep daffodils alive and how to hang curtains from the ceiling. 

Pfeiffer’s is a great little hardware store.  The staff is extremely knowledgable and friendly.  Pfeiffer’s is also sort of like a neighborhood greeting place.  Everyone seems to know each other and to be heading off to bbq together later where they can talk about the dry wall anchors or ceiling fan chains they bought that day.  (I have obviously purchased at least 7,323 dry wall anchors from Pfeiffer’s myself, and I do love to talk about them.) 

Pfeiffer’s is small but don’t let that fool you.  I promise you they have everything you’re looking for.  (And, if they don’t, they’ll order it.)  I asked for contact paper once and they literally scurried up the side of this shelving unit and pulled down not one, but four different styles of contact paper, from god knows where. 

Love Pfeiffer’s.  Can I come to the bbq too?

3219 Mount Pleasant Street NW
Washington, DC 20010
(202) 462-1431
Open Monday-Saturday 8-7 and Sunday 11-5.

